eCampusOntario Logo
12.02.2020 - 3 min. Read

Dr. Steven Murphy appointed Co-Chair of eCampusOntario

eCampusOntario is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Steven Murphy to the position of Co-Chair of the Board of Directors. Dr. Murphy currently serves as President and Vice‑Chancellor of Ontario Tech University and previously served as Dean of the Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University.  Over just two years at Ontario Tech, Dr. Murphy has overseen a successful re-branding of the institution and driven an ambitious agenda to evolve the university as a leader in tech with a conscience. 

eCampusOntario is excited to welcome Dr. Murphy’s insights, wisdom, and talent to help shape the future of the organization and provide Ontario postsecondary institutions with the guidance and support needed to succeed in a globalized world.

“I am thrilled to be selected as a Co-Chair of eCampusOntario. Our province and country are experiencing rapid change in post-secondary education and I am a firm believer that eCampusOntario can continue to play an important role in strengthening Ontario’s postsecondary institutions through sharing best practices, e-learning tools, Open Educational Resources (OERs), and pedagogical innovations we are yet to uncover. To have one organization dedicated to collecting and disseminating best practice makes imminent sense and ensures institutions don’t waste time reinventing the wheel. The alignment with Ontario Tech’s academic mission and plan is obvious and direct, and we look forward to opportunities to partner with eCampusOntario in learning from other jurisdictions and our own Ontario institutions,” said Dr. Murphy.

eCampusOntario is funded by the Government of Ontario to be a centre of excellence in online and technology-enabled teaching and learning for all publicly-funded colleges and universities. eCampusOntario supports the development and delivery of quality online learning experiences across all of Ontario and leads in research, development, and sharing of exemplary practices in online and other forms of technology-enabled learning. eCampusOntario actively supports member institutions to foster greater innovation, collaboration, and excellence on behalf of Ontario students and faculty.

“We are so pleased that Dr. Murphy has agreed to take on the role of Co-Chair of the Board of eCampusOntario” said Judith Morris, eCampusOntario Co-Chair and President and CEO of Lambton College. “We know that by responding to emerging technologies and innovative approaches to education, Ontario can continue to be a world leader in the development and delivery of state-of-the art online and technology-enabled learning experiences for our students.”