COVID-19 : eCampusOntario a regroupé des ressources pour soutenir la transition aux cours à distance. Visitez la page

Publications et rapports

Analyse contextuelle de l’apprentissage dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire de l’Ontario

Le présent rapport a été commandé par eCampusOntario afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure l’activité d’analyse de l’apprentissage est répandue dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire publics.

Infographie : la croissance de l’apprentissage en ligne dans les universités et les collèges canadiens

Résultats partiels du Sondage national 2019 permettant de suivre l’évolution de la formation à distance et de l’apprentissage en ligne. Résultats complets du sondage à formationenlignecanada.ca 

Infographies précédentes: 2018

Le web / L’ imprimé

Modèles opérationnels de microcertification dans l’enseignement supérieur

eCampusOntario a commandé la présente analyse qualitative de la pratique internationale en matière de microcertification à la fin de 2019, dans le cadre d’une démarche systémique visant à favoriser des approches communes aux pratiques souples d’apprentissage et de reconnaissance des crédits. L’objectif était de fournir un outil de planification stratégique pour aider les établissements de l’Ontario à mettre sur pied leurs propres initiatives de microcertification durables et à favoriser le développement d’un écosystème de reconnaissance partagé à l’échelle de la province. L’accent a porté sur les titres de compétences numériques sous l’angle de leur reconnaissance dans la durée plutôt que sur de la ludification de la mobilisation des apprenants.

Microcertification : Contexte politique et réglementaire en Ontario

Le présent rapport analyse le cadre de réglementation actuel en Ontario — l’ensemble des politiques et directives du ministère des Collèges et Universités, ainsi que les divers processus d’assurance de la qualité à l’échelle provinciale — dans le contexte de la microcertification. Le rapport vise à informer les collèges et les universités sur la façon dont le cadre actuel favorise ou pourrait limiter l’utilisation de la microcertification.

Ontario Extend en pratique

À la fin de 2019, eCampusOntario a retenu les services de Kyle Mackie Consulting Ltd. pour mener une enquête et des entrevues de suivi afin de déterminer le nombre d’établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire de l’Ontario qui ont adopté ou personnalisé des modules ou des ressources Ontario Extend (OE) sous une forme ou une autre, en étant attentif aux éléments suivants :

  • Adoption et personnalisation des services formels d’enseignement et d’apprentissage ;
  • Adoption et personnalisation informelles à l’échelle locale ;
  • Adoption et personnalisation propres aux modules ;
  • Modes de prestation ;
  • Technologie utilisée aux fins de la personnalisation.

Analyse de l’apprentissage orientée étudiant – Valeurs, principes et objectifs directeurs

Ce document a été élaboré par un groupe de travail composé de représentants de l’enseignement postsecondaire en Ontario. Il s’agit d’un document évolutif, conçu pour éclairer la conception de haut niveau d’un outil d’analyse de l’apprentissage à l’intention des étudiants. Cet outil leur permettra d’apprendre de leurs propres données d’apprentissage, de les interpréter et d’y donner suite afin d’améliorer leurs expériences d’apprentissage tout au long de leur vie.

Infographie : apprentissage en ligne et apprentissage numérique dans les collèges et universités financés par la province de l’Ontario

Selon les données tirées d’un rapport de 2019 détaillé de l’Association canadienne de recherche sur la formation en ligne (ACRFL) avec l’appui d’eCampusOntario, cette nouvelle infographie présente l’incidence des inscriptions aux cours en ligne, les prévisions pour les inscriptions futures et les technologies utilisées en Ontario.

Infographie précédente: 2018

Le web / L’imprimé

Principes et cadre de microcertification

Ce document a été élaboré par un groupe de travail d’employeurs et de représentants des établissements postsecondaires de l’Ontario afin de donner des orientations très larges pour les projets pilotes de microcertification dans toute la province. Il s’agit d’un document évolutif. Les organismes et les établissements partenaires sont encouragés à mettre ce cadre à l’essai à leur niveau et à faire part publiquement de leurs constatations de façon à permettre l’elaboration d’un écosystème de microcertification sain, susceptible de servir tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes.

Examen du financement des projets d’eCampusOntario pour 2016-2018

Entre 2016 et 2018, eCampusOntario a appuyé 167 projets éducatifs conçus et élaborés par des collèges et des universités membres, partout en Ontario. Le présent rapport a été préparé à partir d’une analyse des tendances des résultats et des attributs clés des projets financés.

Des engagements fondamentaux pour un succès commun

Le but de ce cadre est d’articuler un ensemble de valeurs et de principes communs pour régir l’intendance de l’écosystème d’apprentissage numérique.

Une place pour les politiques : Le rôle des politiques dans l’appui aux ressources et aux pratiques éducatives ouvertes (R/PEO) dans les collèges et universités de l’Ontario

La présente étude, commandée par eCampusOntario, porte sur les avantages des ressources et pratiques éducatives ouvertes (R/PEO) et les obstacles à leur adoption dans les collèges et universités. Axé sur la politique institutionnelle, le présent rapport montre que des politiques ciblées peuvent éliminer certains des obstacles auxquels font face les R/PEO.

Analyse de la conjoncture des REL sur les sciences infirmières : rapport sommaire

Dans le cadre de l’initiative Open at Scale d’eCampusOntario, les services de Green Hat Educational Services ont été retenus pour une analyse de la conjoncture des ressources éducatives libres (REL) pour les programmes de formation de métiers et d’apprentis. Dans le cadre de ce projet, l’initiative Le numérique avant tout : métiers et apprentis d’eCampusOntario vise le développement de ressources éducatives libres (REL) dans une discipline ou un domaine d’études précis dans le cadre d’une approche qui aura de grandes retombées. La première étape du projet comprend une analyse de la conjoncture sur les référentiels et les programmes actuels de REL en vue d’une réutilisation et d’une adaptation de toutes les ressources éducatives libres dans les programmes de métiers et d’apprentis lorsque cela convient.

Ce manuel pratique sur LinkedIn Learning

Ce manuel pratique sur LinkedIn Learning (en anglais seulement) a été créé dans le cadre du projet pilote provincial sur la plateforme LinkedIn Learning (anciennement Lynda.com) qui s’échelonne de 2017 à 2020. En 2017, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a demandé à eCampusOntario de prendre les rênes du projet pilote et de favoriser une communauté de pratique qui augmenterait la participation et les expérimentations sur la plateforme. Le manuel rend compte des activités de la communauté de pratique. Neuf auteurs différents abordent les séries de vidéos sur LinkedIn Learning sous différents angles. Ils parlent de leur expérience de l’utilisation de la plateforme et analysent l’utilité de l’outil pour ajouter un complément à leur travail et comment l’améliorer.

Ce manuel pratique sur EdTech Sandbox

Le soutien à la croissance et à l’expansion de l’apprentissage et de l’enseignement assistés par la technologie est au cœur du mandat d’eCampusOntario. En juin 2017, eCampusOntario a annoncé des manifestations d’intérêt invitant ses 45 établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire membres à participer à un maximum de trois bacs à sable pour les technologies de l’éducation. L’objectif consistait à offrir l’occasion d’explorer de nouveaux outils pour soutenir l’apprentissage assisté par la technologie dans des environnements sans risque et à l’échelle de nombreux spectres. Les rapports institutionnels inclus dans la présente publication ont été rédigés par les responsables des projets pilotes et, sauf pour quelques légers changements de forme, sont rédigés dans leurs propres mots.

Normes de qualité libres (eCampusAlberta)

Les normes eCampusAlberta Quality Suite (en anglais seulement) sont un ensemble de normes de qualité pour la création de cours en ligne efficaces, interactifs et accessibles. Élaborées par une équipe de professeurs de collèges et d’universités de l’Alberta, ces lignes directrices renferment les normes touchant à la conception Web, le contenu du cours, la rédaction, les ressources, l’organisation, la pédagogie et la technologie.

Analyse de la conjoncture des REL sur les sciences infirmières : rapport sommaire

Dans le cadre de l’initiative Open at Scale d’eCampusOntario, une équipe de l’Université de Windsor et de l’Université de Western Ontario a mené une analyse de la conjoncture des ressources éducatives libres (REL) sur les sciences infirmières. Cette analyse de la conjoncture vise à recenser les REL portant sur les sciences infirmières déjà publiées ou à paraître bientôt qui peuvent être utilisées dans les programmes de sciences infirmières des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire en Ontario, au Canada. Par ailleurs, l’analyse vise à faire ressortir les lacunes dans les REL actuelles et les possibilités quant à la création future de REL dans le cadre d’initiative stratégique.

Analyse de la conjoncture des REL sur la
gestion : rapport sommaire

Dans le cadre de l’initiative Open at Scale d’eCampusOntario, les services de Kyle Mackie Consulting Ltd ont été retenus pour une analyse de la conjoncture des ressources éducatives libres (REL) sur la gestion. Cette analyse de l’environnement vise à recenser les REL portant sur l’administration des affaires déjà publiées ou à paraître bientôt qui peuvent être utilisées dans les programmes de gestion des collèges et des universités en Ontario, au Canada.

Pour la promotion d’une stratégie sur les services technologiques éducatifs partagés en Ontario : Phase de consultation à l’échelle provinciale

Au terme d’un processus destiné à promouvoir l’adoption d’une stratégie sur les services technologiques éducatifs partagés pour les établissements postsecondaires publics de l’Ontario, Peter Wolf et Vivian Forssman, au nom de l’Université Carleton, ont organisé quatre ateliers en ligne entre le 1er et le 28 novembre 2018 auxquels ont participé des représentants des 45 universités et collèges publics de la province. Au final, 76 participants représentant les TI, les services administratifs des établissements, le personnel des centres d’enseignement et d’apprentissage et les bibliothécaires de 82 % des établissements membres (37 établissements) ont ainsi pu s’exprimer.

Les ateliers ont été conçus pour valider les conclusions du sondage d’août 2018 sur les services technologiques éducatifs partagés et pour alimenter la réflexion sur une stratégie de collaboration future.

Rapport de recherche l’Ontario prolonger

Cette étude d’Ontario Extend explore les expériences d’éducateurs ayant participé aux premières itérations du programme.

eCampusOntario ont donc joint nos efforts à ceux de six collèges et quatre universités du Nord de l’Ontario pour élaborer du matériel didactique susceptible d’offrir une base de savoir commune et de compléter les programmes de formation et de perfectionnement destinés à l’apprentissage en ligne. Cette étude entrepris d’évaluer les forces mais aussi les faiblesses susceptibles d’être corrigées par un remaniement de certains éléments.

Sondage sur les services technologiques éducatifs: Rapport final

Le sondage sur les services technologiques éducatifs partagés a été distribué à 45 établissements postsecondaires de l’Ontario (anglophones et francophones) entre le 4 juillet et 2 août 2018 afin d’envisager une stratégie provinciale. Dans son ensemble, l’enquête démontre un intérêt à explorer les services technologiques éducatifs partagés comme outil servant à faire avancer les établissements postsecondaires de l’Ontario. Le projet a été remis à une équipe de l’Université d’Ottawa dirigée par Aline Germain-Rutherford (vice-rectrice associée, Service d’appui à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage) et Richard Pinet (directeur, Centre des pédagogies novatrices et de l’apprentissage numérique). L’Université d’Ottawa a élaboré un plan de travail comprenant l’encadrement de la qualité, les services de traduction et l’accès aux outils de sondage avec l’autorisation de l’Université d’Ottawa (SurveyMonkey). La planification des communications, la conception du sondage et l’analyse des données ont été entreprises par Vivian Forssman et Peter Wolf, consultante et consultant indépendants.

Rapport de recherche

L’enquête Connaissance et utilisation des ressources éducatives libres (REL) en Ontario a été menée au printemps 2018. Cette recherche visait à en apprendre davantage sur les éléments ressources de la pratique de l’enseignement postsecondaire en Ontario, y compris les types de ressources que les enseignants utilisent, les principaux critères de prise de décisions que les enseignants appliquent pour choisir les ressources, la sensibilisation des enseignants aux REL et l’utilisation réelle des REL – y compris les manuels libres. Les résultats de cette recherche aideront à éclairer les programmes et les partenariats d’eCampusOntario avec les établissements membres à mesure que le potentiel de la pratique libre sera exploré.

Les autres formats: MS Word (police Arial)

COVID-19: eCampusOntario has gathered resources to support the pivot to remote course delivery. Visit Page

Publications and Reports

Student Facing Learning Analytics Final Report

With conversations happening about how administration and instructors might make use of student data, eCampusOntario invited campus teams to participate in a series of co-design sprints to yield a student-facing learning analytics blueprint that member schools could use to make further progress in this area.  What emerged from our work was clarity around student needs for analytics about their learning data, typical experiences that would trigger students to need analytics about their learning data, and how to help students help themselves with that data. This report highlights student stories, student needs and student use cases.

Learning Analytics in Ontario Post-Secondary Institutions: An Environmental Scan

This report was commissioned by eCampusOntario to determine the scope of learning analytics activity at public post-secondary institutions.

Infographic: The Rise of Online Learning in Canadian Universities and Colleges

Select results from the 2019 national survey that tracks the development of online and digital learning in Canadian public post-secondary education. Full survey results at onlinelearningsurveycanada.ca

Previous Infographics: 2018

Web version / Print version

Micro-certification Business Models in Higher Education

eCampusOntario commissioned this qualitative scan of international practice in micro-certifications in late 2019, as part of a systems approach to fostering shared approaches to these flexible learning and recognition practices. The intent was to provide a strategic planning tool to help Ontario institutions build their own sustainable micro-certification initiatives and to help encourage the development of a shared recognition ecosystem in the province. The focus was on digital credentials for ongoing recognition rather than for gamification and learner engagement.

Micro-certifications: Policy and Regulatory Context in Ontario

This report analyses the current regulatory framework in Ontario—the set of policies and directives of the Ministry of Colleges and Universities, and the various provincial-level quality assurance processes—as the framework applies to micro-certifications. The report is intended to provide information to colleges and universities about how the current framework enables or might constrain the use of micro-certifications.

Ontario Extend in Practice

In late 2019, Kyle Mackie Consulting Ltd. was contracted by eCampusOntario to conduct a survey and follow-up interviews to identify the number of Ontario post-secondary institutions that have adopted and/or customized the Ontario Extend (OE) modules or resources in some format, with attention paid to:

  • Formal teaching and learning department adoption and customization;
  • Informal local adoption and customization;
  • Module-specific adoption and customization;
  • Delivery modes; and
  • Technology used for customization.

Student-Facing Learning Analytics Values, Principles and Guiding Goals

This document was developed by a working group of post-secondary representatives in Ontario. This is a living document, created to inform the high-level design of a Student-Facing Learning Analytics tool that empowers students to learn from, interpret and act on their own learning data in ways that improve learning experiences throughout their student life cycle.

Infographic: Online and Digital Learning at Ontario’s Publicly Funded Colleges and Universities

Using data from an in-depth report in 2019 by the Canadian Digital Learning Research Association (CDLRA) and co-supported by eCampusOntario, this new Ontario-focused infographic tracks the impact of online course registrations, forecasts future enrollments and describes technology.

Previous Infographics: 2018

Web version / Print version

Micro-certification Principles and Framework

This document was developed by a working group of employers and post-secondary representatives in Ontario to provide high-level guidance for micro-certification pilots across the province. This is a living document. Partner organizations and institutions are encouraged to test this framework in their contexts and share their findings publicly to enable the development of a healthy micro-certification ecosystem that serves all Ontarians.

eCampusOntario 2016-18 Project Funding Review

Between 2016 and 2018, eCampusOntario provided support to 167 education projects designed and developed by member college and universities from across the province of Ontario. This report was prepared through analysis of output patterns and key attributes of funded projects.

Core Commitments for Shared Success

The purpose of this framework is to articulate a set of shared values and principles to govern stewardship of the digital learning ecosystem.

A Place for Policy: The Role of Policy in Supporting Open Educational Resources and Practices at Ontario’s Colleges and Universities

This study, commissioned by eCampusOntario, considers the benefits of open educational resources and practices (OER/P) and the obstacles hindering their uptake at colleges and universities. Focusing on institutional policy, this report makes the case that targeted policies can remove some of the obstacles facing OER/P.

Trades OER Environmental Scan

As part of eCampusOntario’s ‘Open at Scale’ project, the Green Hat Educational Services team was contracted to conduct an environmental scan of Trades and Apprenticeship open educational resources (OERs). Under this project, the eCampusOntario Digital First: Trades and Apprenticeship initiative targets the development of open educational resources in a specific discipline or area of study for a high-impact approach. The first stage of the project includes an environmental scan of existing OER repositories and programs to ensure that all existing open Trades and Apprenticeship learning resources are leveraged for reuse and adaptation where appropriate.

LinkedIn Learning Casebook

This LinkedIn Learning Casebook was developed as part of the province-wide LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) pilot project that runs from 2017-2020. In 2017, the Government of Ontario asked eCampusOntario to administer the pilot and foster a community of practice to support engagement and experimentation with the platform. This casebook captures that community of practice in action. Nine different authors approach the LinkedIn Learning collection from a variety of perspectives, sharing their experience implementing the platform and reflecting on the value of the tool to augment and enhance their work.

EdTech Sandbox Casebook

Support for the growth and expansion of technology-enabled learning and teaching is central to the mandate of eCampusOntario. In June 2017, eCampusOntario announced expressions of interest inviting its 45 member post-secondary institutions to participate in up to three different Educational Technology Sandboxes. The aim was to provide an opportunity to explore new tools to support technology-enabled learning in risk-free environments and across many spectrums. The institutional reports included in this publication were written by the project leads from the pilot projects and, aside from small editorial changes, are in their own words.

Open Quality Standards (eCampusAlberta)

The eCampusAlberta Quality Suite is a set of standards for creating effective, interactive and accessible online courses. Developed by a team of faculty members at colleges and universities throughout Alberta, the guidelines cover standards for web design, course information, writing, resources, organization, pedagogy and technology.

Nursing OER Environmental Scan

As part of eCampusOntario’s ‘Open at Scale’ initiative, a team from the University of Windsor and Western University conducted an environmental scan of nursing-related open educational resources (OER). This environmental scan aimed to identify existing or soon-to-be released nursing OER that can be adopted or adapted for nursing courses delivered by post-secondary institutions based in Ontario, Canada. It also aimed to surface gaps in the existing OER landscape as potential targets for future strategic OER development initiatives.

Business OER Environmental Scan

As part of eCampusOntario’s ‘Open at Scale’ initiative, Kyle Mackie Consulting Ltd. was contracted to conduct an environmental scan of business-related open educational resources (OER). This environmental scan is meant to identify existing or soon-to-be-released business OER that can be used in college and university level business courses by post-secondary institutions based in Ontario, Canada.

Advancing an Educational Technology Shared Services Strategy for Ontario: Province-wide Consultation Phase

Following on a continuing process to advance an educational technology shared services strategy for Ontario public post-secondary institutions, Peter Wolf and Vivian Forssman, on behalf of Carleton University, hosted 4 online workshops scheduled between November 1 – 28, 2018, inviting representatives from all 45 Ontario public colleges and universities to participate. The workshops brought together 82% of member institutions (37 institutions), with a total of 76 participants, representing IT, academic administration, teaching and learning centre staff, and librarians.

The workshops were designed to validate findings from the August 2018 Educational Technologies Shared Services Survey and inform a collaborative go-forward strategy.

Ontario Extend Research Report

This study of Ontario Extend explores the experiences of educators who participated in the initial iterations of the program.

eCampusOntario collaborated with six colleges and four universities in Northern Ontario to develop resource materials that could provide a common baseline of knowledge and complement specific training and development programs for online learning development. This study sets out to identify strengths and weaknesses that could be remediated by redesigning selected program elements.

Shared Services Reports

The Educational Technology Shared Services Survey was distributed to each of 45 Ontario colleges and universities (English & French) between July 4 and Aug 2, 2018, to consider a provincial educational technology shared services strategy. Overall, the survey identifies interest in further exploring educational technology shared services as a way forward for colleges and universities in Ontario. The Educational Technology Shared Services Survey project was awarded to a University of Ottawa team led by Aline Germain-Rutherford (AVP Teaching and Learning Support Services), and Richard Pinet (Director, Centre for Innovative Pedagogies and Digital Learning). U of Ottawa outlined a workplan which included project quality oversight, translation services, and access to U of Ottawa’s licensed survey tool (SurveyMonkey), with all communications planning, survey design, and data analysis to be undertaken by independent consultants Peter Wolf and Vivian Forssman.

Research Report

The survey, Awareness and Use of Open Educational Resources (OER) in Ontario, was conducted by eCampusOntario in spring 2018. The purpose of the research was to learn more about resource elements of post-secondary teaching practice in Ontario, including: the types of resources educators use, the key decision-making criteria educators use when selecting resources, educator awareness about OER, and actual use of OER – including open textbooks. Findings from this research will help inform eCampusOntario programming and partnerships with member institutions as the potential of open practice is explored.

Other formats: MS Word (Ariel font)

Drivers and Barriers to Online Learning in Ontario

eCampusOntario engaged Ipsos to run a province-wide survey about Ontarians’ attitudes towards online learning. The results include data regarding familiarity, favourability, trust, and advocacy, characteristics that individuals consider when contemplating online education. Download to learn more.